New Year’s Detox

Happy 2014!

Happy 2014!  Who doesn’t start off January 1st saying they are going to do all of these wonderful things – eat healthier! – exercise more! – be a better wife/friend/sister… whatever.

Personally, I think New Year’s Resolutions are crap.  I’ve never done them and honestly – with being a teacher – find it easier to start “End of the school year” resolutions because I am significantly less stressed in June than in January.

Well, back in October I read about Dr. Oz’s 3 day cleanse and thought I wanted to try it. Not so much because I wanted to lose weight (although that would be a perk!) but I feel totally addicted to sugar.   Especially around the holidays, I have been eating so many sugary products that I just crave it constantly.  The only problem is it is 3 days and because they revolve around having 4 smoothies a day, I can’t exactly do that at school.  So, I kept waiting for a 3 day weekend – Thanksgiving wouldn’t cut it, so I decided after Christmas would be a good time to do it.  I just put it off until January 2nd.

Because my husband keeps complaining he needs to lose weight I convinced him this is a great way to kick start.  I went to the store and bought all of the ingredients – total of $90.00.  Which means it is about $15/day per person.  I did take some shortcuts (which I will describe) but overall stuck to the list.  Dr. Oz makes it pretty idiot proof because he makes a great checklist:

Dr Oz’s 3 Day Detox Cleanse

So, I am half way through day one.  The breakfast shake was amazing.  I usually drink a fruit smoothie for breakfast so it wasn’t much of a change from my normal.  The changes I made were:

  1.  Sub Blueberries for Raspberries: I bought a large 6 lb bag of frozen blueberries at Sam’s Club because the fresh ones weren’t looking so great, being January and all.
  2. I am going to cut way back on the Stevia – I used the 1 tsp  in the breakfast detox tea but could probably get away with using none.
  3. Sub Limes for Lemons: At Sam’s it was $6 for a bag of lemons and $3 for a bag of limes.  So, being cheap, I just bought a big bag of Limes, I didn’t need both, and am subbing lime for anywhere that it says “lemon” in the ingredients. Had I done my shopping at a normal grocery store, buying both wouldn’t be an issue.

After the breakfast shake, I got hungry about 3 hours later.  The lunch shake reminds me of gazpacho without tomatoes.  It is pretty much like a salad smoothie, but it isn’t horrible.   Definitely less exciting than the breakfast smoothie!  I stuck to the recipe but instead of plain pineapple I used another frozen blend of Blueberries, Strawberries and Pineapple.  The nice part about frozen fruits is it makes the smoothie colder – since you aren’t adding any ice.  Plus its easier to prep – and I’m all about easy and quick! Here is a picture of the Lunch smoothie – I forgot to take a picture of the breakfast one – I will do that tomorrow!

Lunch smoothie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, that’s where I stand right now!   I am pretty sure I can handle this for 3 days, but I’ll keep you posted… 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

